Uncategorized

Colonial America Book List and Resources

Here I want to share some of our favorite books from our 18th century studies this year. We spent the entire year focused on this century for history, and some literature, music, and science. I am sure I am neglecting some picture books and other books I found randomly at libraries throughout the year, but today’s post is a basic list of books we used or that I previewed for this particular century study. We have been taunted as a history focused homeschool, and to that I say-yes we are. It gives me a launching point for many subjects, but we lay a full feast and it cannot be reduced to only one subject. History affects so much of life, and one of my favorite subjects. However, traditional history classes in school almost ruined my joy in this subject with the monotonous tones in the books and the rattling off of details required to be memorized. I aim to help my children have a different experience.

Let a child have the meat he requires in his history readings, and in the literature which naturally gathers round this history, and imagination will bestir itself without any help of ours; the child will live out in detail a thousand scenes of which he only gets the merest hint.” – Charlotte Mason

It is not at all easy to choose the right history books for children. – Charlotte Mason

Oh, that is such an understatement Ms. Mason. It is quite a daunting task, and I am grateful for the many who came before and have directed me. For those wanting to look at other titles, my favorite sources are Ambleside Online, Redeemed Reading, Simply Charlotte Mason, Sonlight, Heritage Mom, and my local library!

A narration should be original as it comes from the child––that is, his own mind should have acted upon the matter it has received.”- Charlotte Mason

We use narration as our main form of learning and evaluation. For children under the age of 10 or fourth grade we use only oral narration, but about age 10 or grade 4 we begin to start adding in some written narration. Many others use drawn narration or play acting narration, but my children are not very interested in those two forms.

We also utilize an individual book of centuries (not well), an individual timeline, and a family history chart to help us organize the things we to remember. I use the free resources from a fellow Charlotte Mason homeschool mama, Lesley at From the CM Trenches, to print the timelines and history charts. She has a wealth of free helps, and I encourage you to go give her a visit.

History Spines

A history spine is your main history lesson. These are generally going to be a quality non-fiction text that is told in beautiful language and story format.

Family

Forms 1-2

  • The American Story by Jennifer Armstrong- This is a perfect first look at American History for those primary, early elementary grades. Short chapters with intriguing pictures.
  • Our Island Story by HE Marshall- We continued reading in this classic in the Charlotte Mason world, focusing only on the chapters that fall in this time category. Chapters 88-89
  • This Country of Ours by HE Marshall- This is also a continued reading from the previous year. Chapters 39-65
  • Liberty!: How the Revolutionary War Began by Lucille Recht Penner- This is a longer picture book. We used this as a review at the end of the year. It was a perfect family read aloud with beautiful illustrations and actual quotes as well. It would be perfect for lower elementary students if doing independent reading.

Form 3

  • Heaven Rescued Land Vol 1 & Vol 2 by Phil Stringer- This is a US history book from a Christian resource, but we actually really loved this particular story version. My 8th grader deemed it the preferred spine. I would recommend for young teens.
  • A Basic History of the United States Vol 1 & Vol 2 by Clarence B. Carson This is well written, but my teen didn’t particularly enjoy this one. I read about half before I had to stop due to time. From Ambleside Online, “Carson, a history professor, has a scholarly tone, and approaches his topic from a libertarian, probably Christian, point of view.”
  • George Washington’s World by Genevieve Foster – I am quickly becoming a Foster fan! She writes succinctly but interestingly. Through short chapters she focuses the book on one primary historical figure’s life but also tells what is going on in other parts of the world at the same time.

Favorite Non Fiction

  • The American Story Series by Betsy Maestro- Hands down my top recommendation for early elementary. These are picture books with short chapters or longer written passages on each page. They start at the beginning of American history and go all the way to the constitution.
  • George vs. George by Rosalyn Schanzer -We used this as a review as well at the end of the year. It goes through quite succinctly the major events of the War for Indepedence and gives a chance to look at it from both the American side and the British side, from both George’s if you will.
  • African Americans in the Thirteen Colonies by Deborah Kent- I found this randomly at a Goodwill, and am so grateful. It was a wonderful succinct introduction to African American history in the US. If you would like more titles for African American history check out Amber @heritagemom .
  • Lafayette and the American Revolution by Russel Freedman- We didn’t get around to this reading, but it is recommended by many.
I asked my girls for their favorite history books this year, and its all biographies and historical fiction.

Favorite History Biographies

Biographies make up a huge part of our homeschool curriculum, so you will find many options here. We didn’t necessarily read all of them this year, but most. I also encourage you to give picture book biographies a chance for the whole family! Yes, even teens. We also highly recommend the Sower Series, YWAM History & Christian Heroes, and Landmark Series.

Family

  • Count Zinzendorf: First Fruit by Janet & Geoff Benge – Truly a great story of a man with a heart for Jesus & mission work! We really enjoy this series, and this one was a name I was less familiar with. He will stick with our family for many years!
  • Mozart, The Wonder Boy by Opal Wheeler- We are huge fans of Ms. Wheeler’s books and should have just bought the entire series years ago. Here you get a look into his life as a child, and it shares some music he wrote (there is a cd available, but we just look them up on YouTube).
  • George Washington: True Patriot (YWAM History Heroes)- We will forever claim praises over the Benge’s work through YWAM. We love the History and Christian Heroes series. These are perfect for family read aloud, or for a confident upper elementary to middle school reader. High schoolers and parents alike though will enjoy these biographies.
  • The Bulletproof George Washington by David Barton- Honestly I was very unimpressed with this book and do not feel its description is very accurate. It briefly shares God’s hand upon him during the French and Indian War, but it is so full of facts, figures, and very very specific details that my children and I almost didn’t finish it. If you have a child who loves battle information they will love this one, but it was not what I expected.
  • The Story of Napoleon by H.E. Marshall- This is a biography of the French ruler. We ran out of time and will be reading it at the start of the next school year. ‘
  • Joseph Haydn: The Merry Little Peasant by Opal Wheeler- We are almost finished with this one, and honestly I can’t recommend these little biographies enough.
  • The Kidnapped Prince: The Life of Olaudah Equiano adapted by Ann Cameron- All of my children voted this as their favorite book of the year when asked. It tells the life of a young man from the time he was in Africa and on. If you don’t know about Equiano then I highly recommend you at least touch on this remarkable person. This story goes over slavery, so there is some serious and hard topics, but honestly much of it in this children’s retelling of his autobiography is written that it is not too graphic or disturbing. Though beware of sensitive children, my five year old did have a few days of fear of someone coming to take her away.
  • The Boy Who Loved Music by David Lasker – This was a random library find about Joseph Haydn! It tells about how his Farewell Concerto came to be. It was one of my kids favorite picture books, and they were eager to reread and watch performances of this one.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Getting to Know the World’s Greatest Composers) by Mike Venezia
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (Revised Edition) (Getting to Know the World’s Greatest Composers) by Mike Venezia 
  • Before There Was Mozart: The Story of Joseph Boulogne, Chevalier de Saint-George by Lisa Cline-Ransome – another wonderful library find and it was recommended by Amber @heritagemom.
  • The Other Mozart by Hugh Brewster – Another great library find! Can you tell we like music? This was another one my children enjoyed about Chevalier.
  • Catherine the Great (Landmark)- We will be reading this along with our French Revolution studies this fall, as a bit of world history.

Form 1

  • George Washington by the D’Aulaires- This a picture book biography. The D’Aulaires area staple in most homeschooling homes because of their unique artwork and ability to share facts in a way that is both exciting and knowledgeable.
  • A Voice of Her Own: The Story of Phillis Wheatley, Slave Poet by Kathryn Lasky – I don’t remember if I read this one, but it was my 11 year old’s favorite book for the year. She talks about Phyllis often.
  • Abigail Adams (Sower Series)- This has been a crowd pleaser for my elementary age students. Sower Series is a set of Christian biographies made for fourth grade and below. The present the biography of the individual with pointers to their Christian heritage, biblical truths, and hand of God without be overtly moralistic, in my opinion. These are longer chapters for a new reader, but any independent reader could tackle this series. I personally think third to fifth grade is perfect for these books.
  • Who Was Wolfgang Mozart?- Honestly, I detest this series, and feel it is lack luster. However, my younger ones occasionally enjoy a title from the series.
  • And Then What Happened, Paul Revere? by Jean Fritz – As you can probably guess, this is a brief history of Paul Revere.

Form 2

  • Benjamin Franklin: Live Wire (YWAM History Heroes)- My upper elementary students shared this reading. These are perfect for family read aloud, or for a confident upper elementary to middle school reader. High schoolers and parents alike though will enjoy these biographies.
  • Meet George Washington by Joan Heilbroner- A good beginner biography. We used this with our fifth & sixth graders, but it is perfect for a beginning chapter book reader. It is part of a Landmark series, but not the infamous one.

Form 3

  • The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin– This is perfect for a confident middle school reader, or I would reserve it for high school. This is his actual autobiography, unabridged and as such we made sure to discuss that we are not always faithfully honest about ourselves and how we portray ourselves.
  • Abigail Adams: Witness to a Revolution by Natalie S. Bober -This one is touted over and over again in homeschool circles. I have not had the chance to read it, but my 8th grader says she’s not impressed with it…and then spews information randomly that she learned from it. I think it’s resonating with her but she just doesn’t realize it.
  • Letters of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Dover Books On Music: Composers) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Hans Mersmann

Historical Fiction

Historical fiction has always had a special place in my heart, and is blossoming in each of my young children in different ways. Some love stories about girls, some about adventures, some about family, some about artists and musicians, and some about codes and secret agent work. They are a gateway to the real history. Just like the tv show, Liberty Kids, spiked an interest in the facts we were reading in our spines, so do the historical fiction. It enriches their learning, their play, and, if carefully chosen, their hearts!

Picture Books

Family Read Aloud

  • Reb & the Redcoats by Constance Savery- This was an interesting read that my children never wanted me to put down. It follows the life of 4 upper class children in England, who go to stay with their uncle, who just so happens to be holding prisoner and Rebel prisoner. Through the story you get a bit of information about the war, but mostly see that not all the Brits are the bad guys.
  • In Search of Honor– This is a historical fiction set around the French Revolution. We ran out of time and will be reading it at the start of the next school year.

Form 1

  • Phoebe the Spy by Judith Berry Griffin – A short little fiction of a slave who becomes a spy.
  • Sam, the Minuteman – This is an older title I’ve had on hand since my formal teaching days. The little boys in my kindergarten class loved this story of the young soldier.
  • The Courage of Sarah Noble by Alice Dalgliesh- Another fan favorite for the ages. This follows the story of a young girl who travels with her father in to the wilderness in the early 1700s to build their home. They at first fear the native neighbors and many other things. Based on a true story.
  • Arrow Over the Door by Jospeh Bruchac- This is a short chapter book that takes place in Revolutionary War. From my 8 year old, “An Englishman and an American make friends. An arrow over the door all the other indians would know it was a safe place.”
  • The Matchlock Gun by Walter Edmonds- This is another classic, and tells about a young boy during the French & Indian War.
  • Sarah Whitcher’s Story by Elizabeth Yates- This is a classic for lower elementary reader, a young girl gets lost at night and her bravery.

Form 2

  • Tree of Freedom by Rebecca Caudill- This author is one of those names I trust, and my daughter who read it enjoyed the story. Being in the midwest with family in Kentucky I feel like this story of a pioneer family of the mid to late 1700s leaving North Carolina to come to what was then the west wilderness would be intriguing.
  • Toliver’s Secret by Esther Wood Brady- A little girl is sent on a top secret mission. Excitement ensues! This became one of my fifth grader’s favorites.
  • My Brother Sam is Dead by James Collier- I couldn’t convince any of my children to read this one, and I didn’t get around to it either. We have an older version and the cover is not very enticing, nor the title. I will have to read it and get back to you, but from the description it sounds like an exciting Revolutionary story and would be particularly exciting for boys.
  • Sign of the Beaver– This is a classic for a reason. It follows the story of a young boy who is left to care for the property while his father goes back east for the rest of the family. He makes friend with the local natives by surprising and adventurous means. Perfect independent reader for lower to upper elementary, or a family read aloud. Audiobook version is also wonderful.
  • A Young Patriot: The American Revolution as Experienced by One Boy– We ended up not using this book due to time.

Form 3

  • Seeds of America Trilogy by Laurie Halse Anderson- Chains, Forge and Ashes is a trilogy that touches the heart and is hard-hitting. It covers some difficult topics regarding slavey during this time, but goes through the lives of two young people and the harrowing journey. It is one of those series that my oldest read and reread.
  • Sophia’s War by Avi- Addicitingly wonderful, as most Avi books are. You get insight into a young girl’s life as her family loses their wealth and position, and look into the encounter with Lord Andre and Benedict Arnold. My young teen and I loved this book, and would recommend for middle-high school.
  • Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson- This is a favorite in this house, as I have one child obsessed with medical writing and obscure illnesses. Though even without that penchant it is a wonderful book about a young girl and her health, financial, and emotional trials during the yellow fever epidemic at the end of th 18th century. I highly recommend a child be in middle or high school, but could be read aloud to non-sensitive child in elementary.
  • The Ravenmaster’s Secret: Escape from the Tower of London– Due to time we have not read this one, but have it reserved for free reads. I would recommend this for middle to high school ages.
  • Amos Fortune by Elizabeth Yates- another book we sadly didn’t get to due to time. Perhaps over the summer.

Mama Reads

I like to read a minimum of one nonfiction and one fiction book in the same history cycle as my children if possible. This is usually done through audiobooks, but not always. I’m realizing as I am writing I forgot to read a fiction set in this time. So if you have a recommendation, send it my way, I all too often get stuck in the 19th century historical fiction funk. I’m thinking maybe Gulliver’s Travels, Moll Flanders or maybe a Waverley Novel. Though if you read my recent post about Charlotte Mason Volume 5, I will be avoiding Goethe.

  • 1776 by David McCullough- This was a great start for me last summer to prepare for the upcoming year. I really appreciate how McCullough uses and quotes from many primary sources. Also, the audiobook narrator was wonderful.
  • John Adams by David McCullough- Full disclosure I didn’t finish this one…yet. It’s over 30 hours of audiobook and I ran out of time, however, I hope to return for it also is a wonderful read. I really appreciate the primary source quotes, and John Adams is such an interesting person to follow!
  • Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation by Cokie Roberts- This was a wonderful read, even with a slightly feminist bent. I honestly wouldn’t recommend this as a spine because it does so heavily focus on the women that it often belittles or barely touches on the men’s accomplishments and other events happening in the war era. I would highly recommend it for an addition for high schoolers, even if only in part. This was a wonderful read for a mother though.
  • Catherine the Great by Robert K Massie- I had hoped to focus on her more with the kids throughout the year, but we will read about her briefly next fall when we also cover the French Revolution. This book was interesting, exciting, and horrifying. I would use it with a mature high schooler with a caveat. There definitely would need to be a warning or discussion as it goes in to some of her and various nobles sexual misconduct, and if I remember right at least one noble who was homosexual. Also rape, incest, and all the other “intrigue” you might expect from the life of a royal.
  • Founding Father: Rediscovering George Washington by Richard Brookhiser- I can’t give a review or recommendation for this one as I ran out of time to read it, but it sits there on my TBR stack.
  • I also did read most of my 8th graders texts, and some of my other kids as prereads. Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, Sign of the Beaver, Chains, Forge, Ashes, Fever 1793, Sophia’s War, and many portions from the spines.
  • Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson- This title is set in 18th century and is wonderful, but I read that not too long ago so didn’t tackle it this year. I actually loved this story, and had fun trying out my Scottish accent when reading aloud. I would also recommend this for an historical fiction or literature choice for ages 12+, or it could be read aloud to any age.

In history, a great volume is unrolled for our instruction, drawing the materials of future wisdom from the past errors and infirmities of mankind.”
Edmund Burke

Some other resources we used are as follows….

Those that fail to learn from history, are doomed to repeat it.”
Winston Churchill

We teach our children history to build a better future. We teach our children history that they will learn, grow, and connect. Thank you so much for visiting, I hope to get other years up as I am able!

Let us go forth and strive to serve the Lord and our families wholeheartedly!


Discover more from Wholehearted Homemaking

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment