Uncategorized

Vegan Gluten Free Soft Cutout Sugar Cookies

Do you have food allergies or intolerances? Do you have multiple issues? Two of my daughters have mild food allergies to egg, wheat and dairy. Anyone of those is a bit stressful when it comes to baking, but all three is rough!!! Eggs, wheat and dairy are the basic ingredients of most baked goods.

I’m not exaggerating when I say I lost my will to bake when we go that verdict. I try, but I definitely don’t bake like I used to. However, I have found a few golden recipes.

One is sugar cookies! Praise the Lord the holiday staple for little ones that actually works. If you haven’t tried Sally’s sugar cookie recipe over at Sally’s Baking Addiction, then you need to go and do it now! They are amazing, soft and oh so good. The best part is the almond extract in my opinion, but thats just because that is how my grandmother did it!

So what does that have to do with food allergies? I have modified her basic recipe to make similar sugar cookies for my food allergy kids. I have found that the best bakes for these particular allergies, come from recipes that take a golden classic and just make a few substitutions.

So without further ado…

VEGAN GLUTEN FREE SUGAR COOKIES

Ingredients

  • 3 c gluten free flour (we use Bobs Red Mill 1:1 Baking Flour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 1/2 c dairy free margarine (softened)
  • 1/4 c non-sweetened applesauce
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
These are the ingredients I use most often, you choose what works for your family.
Applesauce is the egg replacement.

Directions

  1. Cream your margarine, sugar, and extracts.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. Then add the wet to the dry, and add in the applesauce. Mix on high thoroughly, but stop as soon as it is completely mixed. We must be careful not to over mix gluten free flours.
  4. Then divide the mix into two and place in squares of plastic wrap or parchment paper. Wrap them up and refrigerate 2 hours to 2 days.
  5. Preheat oven to 350* F.
  6. Place one disc on floured parchment paper, and roll out. Cut as desired and place on a cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 11-12 minutes until golden on edges and bottom. Allow cookies to cool 5 minutes on the baking sheet before transferring to wire cooling rack.
Here is a side by side of gluten free vegan (left) and traditional (right) in their dough packets and heading to fridge for a few hours.

Will have to upload a photo of finished product later, for some reason all my photos are gone! But trust me they are wonderful and delicious!


Discover more from Wholehearted Homemaking

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “Vegan Gluten Free Soft Cutout Sugar Cookies”

Leave a comment