charlotte mason, Uncategorized

Formation of Character Read Along

What do you say to another round of Charlotte Mason volume read alongs? If you have been around here before you may have joined me as I read through Volumes 1-3.I am currently in the process of reading through Volume 4 with my teen (as it is intended), and as such won’t be narrating here. Now I hope to take on the daunting task of Volume 5, Formation of Character.

Why is Volume 5 so daunting? Not sure, I haven’t read it yet, but it does seem to be the neglected volume and the one few ever get to reading. In the past year I had the pleasure of hearing Karen Glass speak twice and both times she mentioned Vol 5 as being one that is rarely read and having its own eccentricities as an outlier in the series. So I did a little digging and came across this post from Charlotte Mason Poetry. In this post I learned that there is a large portion that is repeated from Volumes 1 & 2, and that this particular volume was not compiled after Vol. 4 but over a span of 20 years. The post makes a lot of interesting insights into this volume that will help you understand its origins and purpose.

I am cautiously excited to dive into this reading with Ms. Mason that many claim to be so formidable. Each week, Lord willing, I will be sharing my narrations and favorite quotes. If you would like to read along and join the conversation you can share here on the blog in the comments section or over on instagram. The schedule is below if you care to join in.

** UPDATE: Part 3 is rather long. If reading as part of reading group I would divide that section into two or three readings

If you would like to join in the reading there are many options in which you can read or listen along. Below are a few of which I am aware, not all have all 6 volumes yet.

Librivox (audio version)

Ambleside Online Annotated Series (digital version)

Charlotte Mason Modern English (digital version)

Charlotte Mason Concise Summaries (digital version)

Charlotte Mason Poetry (digital version)

Fisher Academy (kindle edition)

Charlotte Mason Says (podcast- no Volume 2 yet)

The Original Home Schooling Series: Study Edition (physical version/purchase)

Living Book Press Bundle & Individual Books Available: Paper or Hardback (physical version/purchase)

Used at thriftstores, and online locations- The pink cover is preferred in older versions.

If you are looking for Charlotte Mason from a Spanish language perspective, my friend Johanna Pérez de Ray,is working on a project with many others to translate the volumes. They have already translated half of volume one. You can find them at Pedagogía Charlotte Mason en español on Facebook or here at PedagogíaCharlotte Mason.

If you plan to join in feel free to print out the schedule, and don’t forget to check in here on the blog, facebook, or over on Instagram.

Happy reading!


Discover more from Wholehearted Homemaking

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.